Lake Run :)

Happy Tuesday! Today began with a pretty sunrise and my two favorite boys, Hershey and Parker ;).

My back porch in the Morning:)  Hershey    Parker

The three of us are almost always the first ones awake and movin’ in my house. I whipped up a simple breakfast and some hazelnut coffee.

Peanut Butter Banana Rice Cake*** 1 rice cake, 1 Tablespoon peanut butter, 1/4 sliced banana, & a drizzle of honey

After enjoying my breakfast, I had enough time to head out for a nice morning walk before work. It was a cool morning and the crisp, fresh air helped wake me up! The rising sun, fresh air, and pretty birds offered a peaceful way for me to start my day. Then it was work time…

My summer job for the past 6 years has been working for my parent’s caretaking business. Since there are a ton of second-home owners in my county, my parents do security checks, lawn mowing, painting and other odd jobs. Summer is a busy time of year!

After a few hours at work I dove right into this bad boy.

Lunch!

My sandwich included turkey slices, provolone, lettuce, tomato, onion, roasted red pepper hummus, all between a fluffy onion roll. The perfect mid-day meal. Something tells me I’m going to be on a sandwich eating roll for the next few weeks- this was just too good :P.

All of this food, and I better start talking about my workout! Since yesterday’s workout was a toning circuit, today I focussed on cardio. I was happy to have my brother, Justin, and his fiancé, Alex, as my running buddies today. We ran down to a nearby lake and back for a total of 3 miles. The weather was perfect for running today.

Running Buddies  Running on the Dirt Roads  Pit Stop at the Lake!

My run was even more awesome with my new kicks! The other day I bought new Brooks Adrenaline GTS shoes. They give great stability and have been featured in Runner’s World as the runner’s choice shoe. Definitely the best pair of shoes I’ve ever run in :D.

Best running shoes

Last, but certainly not least, dinner. My mom was making mac-n-cheese, which I can never pass up… but I wanted to go down a healthier path tonight. I decided to make one of my favorite salads with spring mix, tomatoes, walnuts, tuna, and balsamic vinegar. Then I added a small side of cheesy-mac and some yummy bread with olive oil. Having mostly salad and less mac-n-cheese made me feel better. 🙂 Nutrition is all about balance!

Salad Time The healthy and the not-so-healthy… Mac N Cheesy Goodness

How do you balance the healthy and the “not-so-healthy”? 

Balance

2 thoughts on “Lake Run :)

  1. I have a lake in my neigborhood that I run around all the time 🙂 And its so important to balance foods and not become fearful of eating “bad foods”..glad to see someone else with same goals!

Leave a Reply

