Spicy Curry Peanut Rice

Yesterday was my last day of classes for my Junior year of college :). It’s been a busy final stretch for the spring semester, but I’m here and back to blogging! My mouth is currently on fire from my spicy, delicious lunch, but first…. today’s workout…

I’ve mostly been running outdoors, but today I hopped on the elliptical by 6am for a 5 mile cardio sesh. Ahhh, morning cardio is such a refreshing, positive way to start the day. Here’s what my workout looked like:

45 min elliptical workout

After sweating it out on the elliptical, I did some stretching and abs. During high school I learned this great 5 minute ab routine that makes my abs burn every time! It’s no joke:

5 min. abs

Some of these moves might not sound familiar, so I’ll try to explain them as best as I can.

How to Do a Proper Crunch

1. Lie on your back and bend your knees with your feet flat on the floor

2. Place your hands behind your head

3. Press your low back toward the floor

4. Lift your shoulders off of the floor, gently supporting your head with your hands (don’t use your hands to lift your head).

5. Come up and down an inch or two in a controlled movement

The one thing you don’t want to do is to have your head and neck swinging up and down. This doesn’t work your abs and only hurts your neck. I like to keep my eyes gazed at the ceiling, because it keeps my neck and form straight.

Side Crunches

1. Lie on your back

2. Lift your knees so they are on top of your hips

3. Point your knees to the right or left side resting them on the floor while keeping everything above your pelvis straight

4. Put your hands behind your head and crunch towards the ceiling

When your knees are pointed to the right, you’re working the left side of you’re abs and vice versa for the opposite side.

Oblique Crunches

1. Lie on your back

2. Pull your knees in so they’re in line with your hips

3. Place your hands behind your head

4. Cross the left elbow towards the right knee while lifting into a crunch

5. Come back to center and cross your right elbow to you’re left knee.

Russian Twists

1. Sit up with your back straight, shoulders down for a safe posture

2. Pull your knees with your feet flat on the floor

3. Keeping the knees bent, lift them so that everything below the knee is parallel to the floor

4. Clasp your hands together at your center

5. Twist by turning your clasped hands to the right, back to center, then to the left.

During the twisting, be sure to keep your body in a straight line. The only thing moving from right to left is your clasped hands.

Penguin Crunches

1. Lie on your back and pull your knees in as close to your body as you can

2. Place your feet a little farther than shoulder width apart

3. Lift your head, holding the crunch position

4. While holding the crunch position, reach your arms out and touch the heels of your feet with your right arm, then your left arm.

Wide Leg Crunch

1. Put your legs in the butterfly position- knees out to the sides and bottoms of feet together

2. Lie on your back, keeping your legs in the butterfly position

3. Crunch towards the ceiling

Hopefully these explanations helped if the names of the exercises were unfamiliar… Now, on to fooooood 🙂

After this mornings workout, I happily devoured a batch of Overnight Oats made with ground flax, almond-coconut milk and a packet of stevia. I had some sweet clementines on the side and two steamy cups of blueberry coffee.

Overnight Oats   Yum

By the time I had done about 3 hours of studying for finals, I was ready for lunch. Time flies when you are having fun have a ton of work to do. I had some left over brown rice from the other night and was craving Thai food. With the ingredients I could find, I tried my best to replicate a Curry Peanut Rice Noodles recipe. I replaced curry paste with curry powder, cucumbers with green pepper, and rice noodles with plain old rice. The dish turned out to be pretty tasty, and I’d really like to try rice noodles sometime.

Peanut Curry Rice   It definitely tasted better than it looks! Peanut Curry Rice

Well it’s back to studying for me, or maybe a nap. Happy May 1st!

Oh did I mention Ryan Gosling sent me this… 😉

If only.... ;)

2 thoughts on “Spicy Curry Peanut Rice

Leave a Reply

