Balancing Life Through Yoga and Running

Running and yoga are the two types of exercises I’m madly in love with ;). The first time I tried yoga was in 8th grade and I’ve been running since 7th grade. These two workouts contribute greatly to my inner-balance. There’s nothing like the feeling of running outside to the sound of my breath, stride of my feet, and beat of my heart. There is also nothing like the calming flow of a yoga sun salutation. Both of these things give me peace of mind and an overall healthy feeling. Yoga and running go hand-in-hand. With yoga I focus on strength and flexibility. With running I focus on endurance. With both I concentrate on controlling my breath and posture.

Lost in the Race Just Keep Runnin’ 1st half marathon

 

This week is being filled with yoga and running for me, and it feels soooo good :). Today I completed my favorite yoga video by “Crunch”, which I’ve mentioned in earlier posts. I love yoga videos, but sometimes it’s awesome just to put on calming music and get into my own flow. I remember during cross country in high school I would do yoga a few times a week by playing songs from the group “Sigur Ros” and doing whatever yoga poses my body wanted to move into. During my practice I would picture myself running through the cross country course, getting lost in my breath and movement.

yoga video

My running routine was thrown off last year when I got achilles tendonitis while training for my third half marathon. Since then, I’ve been able to use the elliptical, but my running has been on and off due to the tendonitis. How frustrating! It’s the worst feeling when I have the energy and desire just to get outside and run my ass off, but my body says no. However…. I’d say my ankle and achilles are fully recovered at this point, but need extra TLC. Which is why I have a plan to ease into my running routine, while stretching and massaging my legs a ton! By summer my goal is to get back into racing with healthy legs :D.

Race Face ;P

I’ve never been good at giving myself extra rest and easing back into running. My instinct is just to get pumped up and run, run, run, which can lead me to over-working myself. BUT I’m being smart now and realizing that if I don’t take care of my muscles and tendons, I will be trapped in this cycle of re-injuring my achilles. The moral to this story: Listen to your body. It’s okay to slow down for a while. 🙂

What do you really love

 

I ❤ running! What do you love?

4 thoughts on “Balancing Life Through Yoga and Running

Leave a Reply

