What I Ate & Why I Ate It!

This morning I whipped up a delicious, clean breakfast 🙂 . For my 2nd Junior college semester I want to eat clean 90% of the time and lift more weights! I’m going to prep my weekly meals on Sundays so that I stay on track, get a good night’s sleep during the week, work hard and make it fun 🙂 . This is what I had for breakfast and why I ate it:

Clean Breakfast

Egg Whites: lean protein for my muscles. It’s a complete protein meaning it has substantial amino acids which are used to build proteins in the body. Fat free and low calorie. Low glycemic index food- won’t spike my blood pressure. Keeps me full.

Broccoli: the wonderful green veggie! Has lots of potassium for the brain, nervous system and muscle growth. Potassium, magnesium, and calcium help maintain a normal blood pressure. Lots of vitamin C to ward of colds and fight free radicals. Calcium and vitamin K prevent osteoporosis and promote healthy bones. Beta-carotene (vitamin A), zinc and selenium help our immune systems. Contains lots of fiber to keep me full, maintain blood sugar and digestion. Vegetables prevent cancer. We can stuff ourselves with veggies and they are still low calorie 🙂

Quinoa: A seed and a starch. It’s a complete protein with all 8 amino acids that will build/repair muscles and tissues. Lots of fiber, low glycemic index. Cleanses the digestive tract. Detoxifies the liver with folate/vitamin B. Has calcium for bone health along with potassium, magnesium and zinc for the nervous system, muscles, and heart. Great source of iron which will help deliver iron throughout the body and especially the brain. Gluten free 🙂

Coffee: people who drink coffee have shown to be less likely to develop Parkinson’s, dementia, type 2 diabetes, strokes, and certain cancers compared to non-coffee drinkers. There is some debate about this. It can have positive and negative affects on anxiety disorders. It’s a CNS and metabolic stimulant, which gives ppl a jolt of energy for about 5 hours. Research has shown that moderate caffein consumption in athletes improved endurance, performance, and sprinting (not extensively though). Caffein increases the release of epinephrine, the “fight-or-flight” hormone, which increases awareness and energy. It can be toxic at very high levels and beneficial at moderate levels.

Cinnamon: I put cinnamon in my coffee, because it maintains blood sugar levels, can lower cholesterol, has anti-clotting effects on the blood, can help decrease arthritis pain, and is anti-inflammatory.

Unsweetened Almond Milk: I put 1/4 cup in my coffee instead of regular creamer, because it’s sugar free and dairy free. It also has lots of magnesium, potassium and vitamin E. Vitamin E is a great antioxidant, magnesium and potassium help stabilize blood pressure along with other benefits. Has 40 calories per cup. Tastes wonderful 😀

It’s amazing how many health benefits we can achieve through one meal! Breaking our meals down to learn the health benefits can help us make better food choices. Food can be the ultimate natural healer or a poison to our bodies. People who suffer from heart-attacks, type 2 diabetes, high cholesterol, osteoporosis, heart-disease, and certain cancers usually could have prevented them through better food choices.

Your Body's Not a Waste Basket

6 thoughts on “What I Ate & Why I Ate It!

  1. Great post! I see so many people adding quinoa in their breakfasts – think I need to do it this weekend! I prep a lot of my meals on Sunday and it is such a help – seriously curbs me from snacking and having to set more time aside in the morning!

Leave a Reply

