New Years Resolution

My morning began with a steamy cup of hazelnut coffee to prepare me for a morning workout. I have been sick all week so I have lacked my usual early-bird energy, and have been working out mostly in the afternoons. The problem with me is if I don’t workout right in the morning, by the afternoon I don’t feel like working out and need an extra push to get me going. So today I was happy to be feeling mostly better and begin my morning workout routine again!

For today’s workout I mixed up hill pyramids on the stationary bike with a total body circuit. I would have run instead but my shin was feeling a bit funny this morning so I decided to give it a break. I began with a 10 minute warmup on the bike, increasing resistance to work up a little sweat, then went right into a 10 minute hill climb. At each minute I increased the resistance until it was as high as it could go, then for the last few minutes I decreased the resistance to get me ready for the circuit. After the hill climb I completed this circuit 3 times:

Total Body Circuit

Then I hopped on the bike for a speedy 5 minute hill climb, increasing the resistance every 30 seconds, before I repeated the circuit for a 4th time. My workout ended with a 5 minute cool down on the bike, and some stretching.

I’m so obsessed with my new nikes that Santa gave me πŸ˜‰ . They’re so comfy and I love the look!

New Nikes

Breakfast was verrryyyy delicious today. I whipped up some scramble egg whites with onions and green pepper, and apple chicken sausages (so yummy!). I also toasted cinnamon raisin toast topped with smart balance spread.

Eggs, veggies, and chicken sausage!

As I enjoyed my breakfast I thought about what I want my new year’s resolution to be this year. Sad to say- I usually don’t even make a new year’s resolution or don’t make a decent plan to achieve the resolution. But this year I have a good idea in mind to keep me on track with my health and fitness plan, and I’m starting my resolution today :D. My goal is to keep a food and workout journal so I can be more aware of my choices each day, and reflect on my workout progress each week. I used to keep a workout journal, but at some point I phased out of the habit. Well, now I’m going to get back into the habit and keep it up for good! I also want to keep up my morning workout routine πŸ™‚ .

Do you have any New Years Resolution ideas, or methods to stick to your goals? I would love to hear them!

2 thoughts on “New Years Resolution

  1. That’s a great new years resolution. I usually don’t make resolutions either, except for “be nicer” and that sort of thing. Are you planning to put your food chart on your blog or in a notebook? Have a great NYE!

Leave a Reply

