Warm Curry Chicken Salad

I kicked off my morning with a chilly but energizing run on the track at a nearby high school. I used to run the 2 mile and 4×800 on my high school track team, today brought back lots of memories!ย 

I was surprised at how many people were at the track before 7am this morning, there were probably about 5 people running and walking around it in the 25 degree weather. Guess my town likes to be healthy ๐Ÿ˜‰ !

After my run I came in from the cold to enjoy my first batch of “Overnight Oats”.

I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz lately about overnight oats and thought I’d give it a try. Last night I filled a bowl with original quaker oats, unsweetened almond milk, ground flax and cinnamon. I let the dish sit in the fridge overnight. The almond milk softens the oats nicely. I topped the oats with banana slices this morning and enjoyed! I ate them cold and it was really good. This is definitely a recipe I’ll be making in the future :D.

Then… more good food today…. After class I journeyed home with a growling tummy ready for lunch. I spontaneously decided to make some chicken salad and added a little creativity to my lunch. I started by cooking some diced onion in olive oil on the stove top, then added a can of Hormel’s Chicken Breast. I added a few lots of dashes of curry seasoning to the chicken and onion as they cooked. Then I topped the warm curry chicken salad on 2 slices of gluten free bread along with a side of juicy red grapes. This was so yummy and only took about 10 minutes- I’m not a cook, I’m just very impatient and want something tasty to eat so it worked out for me ;).

My mom was on her way to pick up my younger brother from boarding school so I texted her a pic of my yummy sandwich. I laughed as I read her reply to the picture ๐Ÿ˜€

She’s too funny. Believe me I am nooooo cook, but I’m workin’ on it I guess!

Have a wonderful Friday! Yay, TGIF that just made me so happy. I’m off to Starbucks to do homework, because doing homework there is just way more enjoyable for some reason ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

