Beware of Sneaky Soy

My day began at 6:30am as I sipped on steamy coffee and enjoyed a bowl of peanut butter puffins cereal. I added almond milk, ground flax and half of a banana to my bowl for a nutrient-packed breakfast.

20121114-120158.jpg

After that I decided to put together a study guide for my microbiology exam (fun way to start the day right?). I’m taking today off from running since my shin/calf has been funky lately. Instead I’m going to ice my legs and I might do some yoga later :). For a morning snack I made a smoothie with 1 cup frozen blueberries, 2 cups spinach, 1/2 cup almond milk, 10 almonds, and a few ice cubes. I ended up adding 2 tablespoons dark chocolate cocoa powder and 1 packet of stavia to flavor it up! It was quite delicious!

20121114-120732.jpg
Lunch was a delightful salad with spinach, broccoli, cherry tomatoes, onions, chicken salad and balsamic vinegar. I also enjoyed a side of frozen blueberries and dark cherries too sweeten it up. Wow, who knew that I could have all of this healthy, nutritious food before 1pm! I recently read a Livestrong article about athletes who ate a lot of spinach every day. A study showed that they performed better in their sports and developed more lean muscle. It said something like the iron in spinach helps your blood carry oxygen to tissues which enhances performance. Pretty cool eh? I was originally going to add tuna to my salad instead of chicken, but I found out that there’s soy in my canned tuna 😦 !!!!!!!!! My cousin has a daughter with some serious soy and nut allergies and she recently told me to watch out for tuna since there is often added soy in the can. Who knew?! And here I was (before knowing of my allergies) eating tuna at least twice a week among other whole grain breads and organic packaged foods that probably all contained soy, gluten and dairy. No wonder why my sensitivity to these things has turned into a full blown allergy. (I’m obviously feeling some frustration over here!)
I guess I’ve learned my lesson to always read labels and never assume.
But on a positive note, not eating soy, dairy and gluten hasn’t been too difficult. The basis of my diet has been fruits, vegetables, and protein which is the right way to eat, and I have also found yummy treats to enjoy. The best part about avoiding soy, dairy and gluten is that I feel so much better even after just a few days. My stomach feels better, I feel energize and healthy. It has also opened my eyes up to the dangers of how our foods are processed and packaged even if they seem healthy.

Now I just have to look up a few things to make for Thanksgiving without gluten, soy, and dairy. Any ideas?
Have a great Wednesday, don’t forget to eat your veggies 😀 !

Leave a Reply

