Allergen Free Protein Bars

TGIF peeps! If you’ve been reading my blog often enough, you may know that I love protein bars. Hehe… well due to my recent Gluten/Soy/Dairy Allergy discovery I can’t enjoy typical meal bars such as Luna, Cliff, and Kashi :(. Sad, sad, I know! But I’m actually really happy about it, because energy bars like those often have added sugars and other unnecessary ingredients (the kinds that contributed to my allergies!) in them even though they are considered healthy. There are plenty of allergen-free energy bars that I’ve researched online and I recently purchased the NuGo Free Carrot Cake energy bar. It’s dairy, soy and gluten free, vegan, low fat, high fiber, high protein. It’s made out of brown rice, tapioca syrup, walnuts, brown rice syrup, agave, chicory root fiber, carrots, raisins, cinnamon, and other natural ingredients. You don’t know how happy I was when I found these :D. They’re pretty yummy, too. I also found online a couple of other brands including Perfect Food Bars. These were created by a Father of eight children, who wanted to experiment and create nutrition-packed foods for his children (adorable right?!). Another brand is Vega Bars which are made from buckewheat, almonds, chia, hemp seeds, and have lots of fiber, protein and omega 3’s. I’m definitely going to try out a few brands and see which ones are the best.

This morning began with a NuGo Free Carrot Cake energy bar and a steamy cup of Newman’s Own Bold Coffee. Yummmm 😀

After that, I listened to some pump-up jams while I put on my spandex layers to head out into the cold for a run. My run today worked on some speed and endurance.

It feels so good to run fast!

Have a wonderful, healthy, happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

