Let’s Talk Nutrition

 

I was in need of a good sweat-sesh this morning so I did this  Elliptical workout. It was a great steady-paced workout and I felt cleansed after lots and lots of sweating! I stretched good after and drank plenty of water.

I want to talk a little bit about Nutrition today, because I’ve been working on cleaning out my diet and only eating the “good-stuff” lately (although this weekend I treated myself a bit too much). I definitely think that eating a balanced combination of lean protein and complex carbohydrates at each meal is the right way to give our bodies plenty of nutrients. I read Tosca Reno’s book “Just the Rules” and it talks about eating clean, mini-meals every 2-3 hours to fuel the right way. When we focus on eating for nutrition, instead of just eating what looks like it would taste good, we can make better decisions about what to put in our bodies. So last night I dug through my fridge to plan some clean, balanced meals for today and thought I’d share them with you. They’re nothing fancy but they are easy, tasty and satisfying!

Breakfast:

  • Green Tea with Lemon
  • 1 cup egg whites with chopped onions and a big handful of spinach
  • 1 clementine
  • pepper and mrs. dash seasoning for the eggs

Snack:

  • 1 red delicious apple
  • handful of almonds (about 15)

Lunch:

  • 1 can of tuna (in water) with a squeeze of lemon
  • 1/2 sliced cucumber
  • 15 baby carrot sticks
  • 5 manzanilla olives
  • a splash of balsamic vinegar on the veggies and tuna (adds flavor)
  • green tea

Snack:

  • 1 cup mixed frozen berries
  • 6oz. chobani yogurt
  • dash of cinnamon

Dinner:

  • 4oz grilled chicken seasoned with Mrs. Dash spices
  • a cup of brussel sprouts
  • 1/2 baked sweet potato
  • green tea

I like to drink green tea at meals and lots of water throughout the day. I squeeze lemon in my tea or water since lemons help get rid of toxins. I’m usually good about eating veggies and lean meats, but it’s the added packaged foods and sweet stuff that gets me. It feels good to fill up on veggies more and eating lots of protein keeps me satisfied. Eating clean is a great way to feel more energized, clear acne, lose extra pounds, and it helps prevent illnesses. I’m not a Licensed Nutritionist (yet) so don’t take this as medical advice, they’re just some things I’ve been learning and thinking about! I’ll be posting some pictures, and new recipes later on this week 🙂 .

 

 

Leave a Reply

